A poem by Alan Whitfield; Moon (Neil Armstong)


Neil Armstrong in an Gemini G-2C training suit...
Neil Armstrong in an Gemini G-2C training suit. Note: This is not a “pre”-gemini spacesuit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Im not really into space and all that stuff. I was like the millions of you out there gutted to hear about Neil Armstrong‘s death. Such a brave human being. I thought this poem would be fitting for the great man

 

Moon
Moon (Photo credit: penguinbush)

 

Moon (Neil Armstrong)

 

Today I saw the moon

 

first time since you oft this room

 

as my mind took off

 

in my atmosphere

 

a thought turned to a tear

 

strapped to metal

 

bar war you must no fear

 

that technical time bomb

 

pulled you from the ground

 

thrust at millions of pounds

 

a week gone by I’m sure the moon

 

shines brighter in the sky

 

you may or not fixed what you shot

 

in my heart in know the place

 

where x marked the spot

 

 

Author: alanwhitfield80

Hello! I get about a bit so here about me first. I am a visual artist and poet who works within the context of fine art. My work is grounded in documentary, exploring the inner beauty of everyday life through various lens based media. Notions of nostalgia and social commentary are present, but from a definite northern working class perspective. Instinctively I exploring the townscapes of North Wales and the North West, often producing work that reflects the every day minutiae of life.

Leave a Reply

