The first step to making a picture that last’s forever on 11/11/11


Many questions are asked in the search for why we photograph, Steven Shore ,Robert Adams, Diane Arbus to name a few. I want to look at Roland Barthes thought process in Camera Lucida “A specific Photograph, in effect, is never distinguished from its referent (from what it represents)”  The use of the prop (the clock) changes the  feel of the image and how we engage it. Barthes also talks about it being a mathematical impossibility to recreate an image twice.

Following on from yesterdays comments about the truth in an image. I was asked to photograph myself at the 11.11.11@11:11:11 as part of a project. In this image my clock is the cattle skull (please see http://wp.me/pNIdU-jY). This images gives us many answers to the why. All be it not the best image taken we see it was taken for the Binary date. So bar name (me) and location (Mochdre) we has a lot a justification for the capture of this image: date, time, moon cycle & weather A time capsule for that second never to be captured again

 

Author: alanwhitfield80

Hello! I get about a bit so here about me first. I am a visual artist and poet who works within the context of fine art. My work is grounded in documentary, exploring the inner beauty of everyday life through various lens based media. Notions of nostalgia and social commentary are present, but from a definite northern working class perspective. Instinctively I exploring the townscapes of North Wales and the North West, often producing work that reflects the every day minutiae of life.

Leave a Reply

